Phil Taylor, often dubbed the greatest dart player of all time, has 16 World Championships (14 in the PDC and 2 in the BDO) under his belt, alongside 16 World Matchplay titles. He retired from the wonderful game in 2018. He has the iconic nickname ‘The Power and the legendary walk on. From interviews, we can see how down-to-earth he is. In his over two decades of domination, he won 214 tournaments and 85 major titles. This makes him the most successful and richest darts player ever…

Phil was born on the 13th of August 1960 in Stoke-on-Trent. He began to take darts seriously when he was around 26. This is when he moved to a house near Eric Bristow’s pub. After playing in the pub, he was selected for a county team and then super-league. Bristow was sponsoring him and loaning him money to allow him to go travelling around to make it as a professional player.

Before founding the breakaway Professional Darts Corporation, he was a player in the British Darts Organisation. He began playing in it in 1987 and stopped in 1993. This is when he and 15 other top players from the BDO broke away and formed their own organisation.

The most coveted thing in darts is the 9-dart finish. He managed to hit a massive 11 of these on TV. Another 11 of them were hit not on TV at events like Pro Tours. He was the first person to hit two 9-darters in one game too.

In his career, he was nominated for the Sports Personality of the Year award twice. Despite not winning it, he was the runner up.

Major Wins

Phil won over 200 tournaments in his time and over 85 major titles. Here are some of the most notable:

  • World Championship – (14) 1995, 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2009, 2010 and 2013
  • World Matchplay – (16) 1995, 1997, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2006, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014 and 2017
  • World Grand Prix – (11) 1998, 1999, 2000, 2002, 2003, 2005, 2006, 2008, 2009, 2011 and 2013
  • Grand Slam – (6) 2007, 2008, 2009, 2011, 2013 and 2014
  • Premier League – (6) 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2010 and 2012
  • UK Open – (5) 2003, 2005, 2009, 2010 and 2013
  • World Cup of Darts – (4) 2012, 2013, 2015 and 2016


  • In 2002, he hit his first televised 9 darter. This was the first 9 dart finish televised in the UK. It was hit in the World Matchplay which he then went on to win.
  • In a match in 2004, he became the first player to ever hit more than one televised 9-dart finish.
  • He was awarded with the PDC player of the year award in 2006.
  • Phil Taylor was awarded with Fans’ player of the year, PDC player of the year, and PDPA player of the year in 2008.
  • He played one of his most well-known games ever in 2010. He hit 2 nine-dart finishes against James Wade in the Premier League.
  • In 2010, he hit a world-record televised average of 118.66 against Painter. This record no longer stands.
  • He was inducted into the PDC Hall of Fame in 2011.

After playing his last World Championship in 2018, he retired from the professional sport of darts. He is still active on social media, updating fans regularly with what he is doing in day-to-day life. We have recently saw him on the TV playing darts again as a result of the COVID-19 lockdown. He has played games on soft-tip and steel tip against players such as Mikuru Suzuki, Fallon Sherrock and Raymond van Barneveld.